The Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) consists of The Book of Confessions and The Book of Order.

The Book of Confessions includes eleven historic creeds and confessions of faith:

  • The Nicene Creed
  • The Apostles’ Creed
  • The Scots Confession
  • The Heidelberg Catechism
  • The Second Helvetic Confession
  • The Westminster Confession of Faith
  • The Larger Catechism
  • The Shorter Catechism
  • The Theological Declaration of Barmen
  • The Confession of 1967
  • A Brief Statement of Faith—Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

The Book of Confessions may be found online in English here. And in Spanish here.

We, the First Presbyterian Church of Bridgeton, New Jersey, are a congregation of people who believe in Jesus Christ and adhere to the Reformed Tradition of Protestant Christianity. Our mission is to live and serve together as a church, responding to God’s love and mercy and growing in our knowledge of God’s ways, in a climate of openness to questions and doubts. We mean to serve Christ by developing our awareness of people’s needs and striving to meet those needs, both within the fellowship of the church and within our community.

Through our participation in the mission of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), we will work to share God’s love throughout the world as we look toward God’s ultimate triumph. We seek to open our life as a church and our personal lives to the guidance and control of Christ.